Databases

Electronic Resources from Home

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE ONLINE DATABASES FROM HOME.

In-House Library Access

The following online resources can be accessed only in the Jersey City Public Library buildings.

These services were partially funded by the New Jersey Regional Library Cooperatives, a state tax funded service of the New Jersey Library Network.

ABC Mouse

Abcmouse.com: From Age of Learning, Inc., the award-winning ABCmouse.com curriculum is designed to help young children (ages 2-8+) build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse.com is 100% educational, with 9,000 learning activities across all major subject area-reading, math, science, social studies, art, and music. Best of all, kids love it. Read More

Census Business Builder

The Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition allows small business owners a way to easily navigate to and use key demographic and economic data to help guide their research into opening a new or expanding their existing business. These key data includes the most recent and/or relevant data that Census provides that are useful to small business owners. Read More

DigitalLearn.org

The Public Library Association (PLA) is doing its part by highlighting cyber security material on DigitalLearn.org, a collection of self-directed, interactive online tutorials developed by the association to help users increase their digital literacy. At DigitalLearn.org, learners can take short, self-directed courses that help them recognize danger and stay safe online. PLA recently added to DigitalLearn.org a set of customizable templates for instructors to design their own classroom training sessions. In recognition of NCSAM, PLA encourages libraries to develop classes focusing on the basics of cybersecurity, covering topics like computer viruses, antivirus software, safe web browsing, and strategies for creating and remembering effective passwords. Read More

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost offers access to the full text over 1,800 magazines and newspapers with MasterFILE Premier, Business Source, and Health Source Plus. A variety of other tools for research are also available. Read More

Ebsco OneSearch

Use One Search instead of the open web, and you’ll find thousands of magazine and journal articles, primary sources, educational videos, encyclopedia articles, eBooks and more in just seconds. Consumer Reports Consumer Reports (CR) is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers and to empower consumers to protect themselves. The organization was founded in 1936 when advertising first flooded the mass media. Consumers lacked a reliable source of information they could depend on to help them distinguish hype from fact and good products from bad ones. Since then, CR has filled that vacuum with a broad range of consumer information. To maintain its independence and impartiality, CR accepts no outside advertising and no free samples and employs several hundred mystery shoppers and technical experts to buy and test the products it evaluates. Read More

Flipster

Access digital magazines using Flipster. Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine service that allows people to browse the latest issues of high quality digital versions of popular magazines, courtesy of the library. Read More

Gale Contemporary Authors

Contemporary Authors provides information on the lives and works of approximately 100,000 current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama. Information on notable international authors and selected early 20th century authors is also included. Read More

Get Help

New Jersey Librarians helps residents through tough economic times. Get the tools needed for work, finances, housing, health, parental guidance and senior services. Read More

JerseyClicks

JerseyClicks is New Jersey's statewide portal for searching the statewide full-text databases. These high quality databases cover subjects such as health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature, and popular fiction. The suite also includes Reference Latina, a Spanish language full-text database. You can search for high quality Internet age information 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Read More

The Jersey Journal, 1867-Present and Star Ledger 1989-Present

In addition to our extensive collection of local newspapers on microfilm, we now offer access to the digitized Jersey Journal and Star Ledger. Holders of Jersey City Library cards and on-site library users can search The Historical Jersey Journal covering the years 1867-1999, which provides full page view. The 1999-present section offers text only though 2016, and full-page view from 2017 to the present. The state’s newspaper, The Star Ledger, is available 1989-Present in text only and 2017-Present in full-page view.Simply click on the link and start hunting. If you have any questions, please contact the NJ Room staff at 201-547-4503. Read More

Kanopy

Kanopy video streaming is now available for our adult patrons. Each patron is limited to 7 checkouts per month. The Kanopy collection offers a broad selection of more than 30,000 feature films, documentaries, foreign language, and training videos, including: the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, the Frontline series, and international films. Verify you are a library patron by entering your library card number when creating an account and films can be watched from anywhere, anytime, on smartphones, tablets, PCs and smart TVs. Read More

Khan Academy

With a library of over 2,600 videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and 306 practice exercises, they're on a mission to help you learn what you want, when you want, at your own pace. Read More

MyON

The Jersey City Public Schools have partnered with myON, an award-winning personalized literacy environment that incorporates: state-of-the art learning platform, enhanced digital reading content, The Lexile® Framework, Cutting-edge literacy tools, Embedded metrics to monitor activity and growth. All grade 3-8 students in the Jersey City Public Schools have access to this innovative literacy program and its' online digital library. For more information about myOn, go to www.myon.com. Your child should have his or her log in information; please contact your child's school for more information. Read More

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition. Read More

MITOpenCourseWare

Free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT. No registration required. Read More

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Morningstar Investment Research Center – database for researching nearly 9,500 stocks, 24,000 mutual funds and more than 800 exchange traded funds (ETFs). Patrons can review Morningstar fund ratings and stewardship grades, utilize stock and fund screeners and print full page PDF reports. Morningstar also provides financial education for the beginner through expert investor through its Investing Classroom. Read More

NJSDC

The New Jersey State Data Center (NJSDC) is a cooperative project of the State of New Jersey and the U.S. Bureau of the Census. The NJSDC website compiles a variety of statistical reports and economic and demographic data on the state, county, and municipal level from State and Federal agencies, making it a useful starting point for many research purposes. Read More

NJ DataBank

NJ DATA Bank - NJ DataBank presents data in 20 key policy areas at the state, county and municipal level. Policy areas include: business, civic engagement and energy, culture, diversity, economic conditions, education, elections, environment, food and agriculture, global connections, government, health, housing, justice, labor, population, public safety, technology, transportation and urban issues. Read More

Novelist

NoveList is an electronic database of over 92,000 titles that helps fiction readers discover new books and writers. Users of all ages can enter a favorite author or title in order to locate other authors or titles of similar interests. In addition, users can browse over 1,200 theme-oriented book lists, 160 award lists and 1,000 fiction-related websites. Read More

PubMed

PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles. Read More

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA provides detailed, current directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses, with separate search modules for health care providers and new businesses. Also enables consumer research by providing faceted White Pages searching and directories of new movers and new homeowners. Read More

Rosetta Stone

Whether you are looking to learn a brand new language, further your ESL learning as non-native English speaker, or brush up on a language for business or vacation travel, Rosetta Stone Library Solution is the perfect solution. Rosetta Stone Library Solution offers a proven immersion method that more than 22,000 schools and 12,000 businesses have trusted for over the last 20+ years. The award-winning interactive approach has been used by millions of learners around the world and now is accessible in the library–or anywhere, anytime. Read More

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus is full of magazine/newspaper articles; photos and maps; TV, radio and government transcripts; encyclopedia, dictionary, thesaurus, almanac and more. Read More

Stanford Engineering Everywhere

SEE programming includes one of Stanford’s most popular sequences: the three-course Introduction to Computer Science taken by the majority of Stanford’s undergraduates and seven more advanced courses in artificial intelligence and electrical engineering. Read More
  • 1
Jersey Journal, 1867-1922, 1961-65  Online

Upcoming Events

Contact Info

Address:
472 Jersey Ave.
Jersey City, NJ 07302

Phone:
(201) 547 - 4526

Send Us a Text:
(201) 579 - 0694

Need more help?
Check our contacts page.